Emma Jeffcoat and Jumpei Furuya win the Parianman Asian Cup

By | 28 Nov, 2015

Priaman Asian Cup triathlon just finished this morning. 13 Female athletes from 7 countries and 39 male Elite from 15 countries competed today.

In the female elite race Emma Jeffcoat from Australia finished 750m swim in first and cycled and run alone and win the race. Chasing pack consisted Hideko Kikochi, Mariko Adachi Ayami Kawaguchi from Japan and Hilda Choi from Hong Kong tried to chase Aussie girl, they could not reduce the gap from leading Aussie girl.

In the Elite Man race, Jumpei Furuya from Japan finished swim in first place and lead the bike, 7 athletes from Japan, Korea, Greece, German, Ireland and catch him immediately and form the leading pack, and at the 2nd lap, 3 more athletes from Hong Kong and Japan join the leading pack. And there is no big change in the groups. For the last lap of bike, Jumpei from Japan sprinted to the transition alone and 10 athletes chased him. However Jumpei did not allow Jonathan Zipf from Germany and James Chronis from Greece and other chasing pack to catch him up even in the run segment and win the race.

There are big crowd around 30,000 spectators. 5 or 6 groups of kids from local elementary school cheered athletes with traditional instrument and in traditional costume and watched whole race in cheerful mood.

Related Event: 2015 Pariaman ASTC Sprint Triathlon Asian Cup
28 - Nov, 2015 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Men
1. Jumpei Furuya JPN 00:54:26
2. Jonathan Zipf GER 00:54:35
3. James Chronis GRE 00:54:41
4. Benjamin Shaw IRL 00:54:50
5. Ji Hwan Kim KOR 00:55:12
6. Min Ho Heo KOR 00:55:14
7. Hui Wai Wong HKG 00:55:29
8. Kohei Shimomura JPN 00:55:42
9. Shogo Ishitsuka JPN 00:55:55
10. Leong Tim Law HKG 00:56:22
Results: Elite Women
1. Emma Jeffcoat AUS 01:00:55
2. Hideko Kikuchi JPN 01:02:07
3. Mariko Adachi JPN 01:02:29
4. Ayami Taketomo JPN 01:03:17
5. Yan Yin Hilda Choi HKG 01:03:39
6. Pooja Nareshbhai Chaurushi IND 01:10:04
7. Yu-yan Huang TPE 01:10:19
8. Chia-Chia Chang TPE 01:12:05
9. Wen Chuan Hsieh TPE 01:15:38
DNF. Shiho Sato JPN DNF