Australia’s Emma Jackson takes out 2012 Elite Women’s Oceania title in Devonport

By Merryn Sherwood | 10 Mar, 2012

The fastest run split of the day helped Emma Jackson top an all Australian podium at the 2012 Devonport OTU Triathlon Oceania Championships on Saturday.

Coming into the 10km run in Tasmania, New Zealand’s Nicky Samuels had a 40 second lead on the field but Jackson quickly reeled her in and finished with a run of 35 minutes and 52 seconds to claim her first Oceania title. Last year’s Oceania champion Ashleigh Gentle claimed silver, after running her way back from the chase pack, with Beijing Olympian Erin Densham claiming bronze.

Jackson said afterwards she played the race to her strengths.

“I gave it absolutely everything I had – my swim was good, I tried to relax on the bike and work with the girls and I knew it would come down to run which is always my strong point,” she said. “But running into the wind wasn’t easy and I was glad to see the finish line.”

Jackson was near the lead from the start, and she was first out of the water alongside Densham and New Zealander’s Samuels and Teresa Adam. The quartet then shared the workload in the lead pack on the bike with Gentle, Natalie van Coevorden (AUS) and four other New Zealanders forming a well-organised chase pack.

Samuels, who claimed the Mooloolaba ITU World Cup win last year, managed to break from Jackson, Densham and Adam on the final lap of the 40km bike course to open up a 40 second lead going into the 10km run. But it wasn’t long before the determined Jackson swallowed her up on the picturesque Devonport foreshores course and as hard as the other Australian girls tried they could not peg Jackson back.

The win means Australia hold onto their Oceania spot, and are currently sitting second out of a total of eight in the list of National Olympic Committees to qualify three women’s spots. While points are still available until May 31st, the result puts Australia in a strong position to field three women on the London start line. 20-year-old Jackson, who finished fourth overall in the ITU World Triathlon Series last year,  is hoping her performance today will see her join Australia’s pre-nominated selection – Beijing bronze medallist Emma Moffatt on the team.

“I was determined to come to Devonport and put together my best race possible and to try and seal that place for Australia and I knew that if I did that then I would certainly do my own selection chances no harm either – that was the plan,” Jackson said.

Debbie Tanner ran herself into fourth courtesy of a 36 minute 36 second 10km run split, and therefore took the 2012 New Zealand national championship as the highest placed Kiwi in the field.

With files from Triathlon Australia

Related Event: 2012 Devonport OTU Triathlon Oceania Championships
10 Mar, 2012 • event pageall results
Results: U23 Women
1. Simone Ackermann RSA 01:58:31
2. Sophie Corbidge NZL 02:00:09
3. Rebecca Kingsford NZL 02:01:42
4. Teresa Adam NZL 02:02:19
5. Chloe Turner AUS 02:05:03
6. Gillian Backhouse AUS 02:07:08
7. Laura Wood NZL 02:08:04
8. Alessia Orla ITA 02:11:31
DNF. Penny Hayes NZL 00:00:00
DNF. Sarah Deuble AUS 00:00:00
Results: U23 Men
1. James Hodge AUS 01:49:41
2. Tom Davison NZL 01:50:01
3. Matt Brown AUS 01:51:04
4. David Mainwaring AUS 01:51:58
5. James Chronis GRE 01:52:26
6. Mike Phillips NZL 01:52:58
7. Shane Farrant AUS 01:54:33
8. James Davy AUS 01:55:05
9. Brayden Tucker AUS 01:55:16
10. Robert Huisman NZL 01:55:20
Results: Junior Women
1. Mikayla Nielsen NZL 01:05:00
2. Jaz Hedgeland AUS 01:05:10
3. Tamsyn Moana-Veale AUS 01:05:22
4. Maddie Dillon NZL 01:06:08
5. Elise Salt NZL 01:06:19
6. Ellie Salthouse AUS 01:06:56
7. Anna Coldham AUS 01:07:24
8. Justine Guerard FRA 01:07:25
9. Brittany Forster AUS 01:07:42
10. Natalea Smith AUS 01:08:21
Results: Junior Men
1. Marcel Walkington AUS 01:00:30
2. Kenji Nener JPN 01:00:54
3. Joel Tobin White AUS 01:01:10
4. Sam Ward NZL 01:01:33
5. Kieran Roche AUS 01:01:36
6. Matthew Baker AUS 01:01:47
7. Luke Farrell AUS 01:01:57
8. Jacob Birtwhistle AUS 01:01:58
9. Christian Wilson AUS 01:01:59
10. Braden Ludlow AUS 01:02:05
Results: Elite Women
1. Emma Jackson AUS 01:56:36
2. Ashleigh Gentle AUS 01:57:26
3. Erin Densham AUS 01:57:43
4. Debbie Tanner NZL 01:57:56
5. Nicky Samuels NZL 01:58:22
6. Natalie Van Coevorden AUS 01:58:45
7. Charlotte McShane AUS 02:02:43
8. Ashlee Bailie AUS 02:06:11
9. Matilda Raynolds AUS 02:08:57
DNF. Rebecca Clarke NZL 00:00:00
Results: Elite Men
1. Brendan Sexton AUS 01:46:46
2. Kris Gemmell NZL 01:47:27
3. Aaron Royle AUS 01:48:02
4. Tony Dodds NZL 01:48:33
5. Courtney Atkinson AUS 01:48:35
6. Martin Van Barneveld NZL 01:48:50
7. Ryan Bailie AUS 01:49:14
8. Drew Box AUS 01:49:54
9. Ryan Fisher AUS 01:49:57
10. Mitchell Kealey AUS 01:50:10
Latest Regional News
more news →