German Athletes to race for Olympic Spots in Madrid

By World Triathlon Admin | 13 May, 2008

With top-15 performances at this past weekend’s ETU Triathlon European Championships in Lisbon, five Germans will race for the last two spots on the German Olympic team.  Three men will battle for the final ticket to Beijing including Andreas Raelert, Maik Petzold and Christian Prochnow.  Raelert, who finished 6th in Athens and 12th in Sydney, was the top German in Lisbon, finishing in fourth place.  He was just edged out by Swiss Olivier Marceau for bronze in a photo finish.  Petzold finished 10th at European Championships and is seeking his second trip to the Olympics.  Prochnow was 12th to keep his Olympic dreams alive.

On the women’s side, as expected, it will be a heated duel between two-time Olympian Joelle Franzmann and Christiane Pilz.  Franzmann was fifth at European Championships and narrowly missed earning her Olympic spot at the Hamburg BG Triathlon World Championships last year.  With a 13th place finish in Lisbon, Pilz is still in the running for her first Olympic spot.  In 2004 she was forced to miss the Games after sustaining an injury shortly before the opening ceremonies.

But in less than two weeks all previous results won’t matter for these athletes as their 2008 Olympic dreams will all come down to Madrid.  The criterion for these athletes is simple: whoever crosses the line first is on their way to Beijing in August.  The Madrid BG Triathlon World Cup will go on May 25.  Log onto for live coverage.

Click here for live coverage in Madrid and start times in your area

Click here for more event information on Madrid

Related Event: 2008 Beijing Olympic Games
18 - Aug, 2008 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Women
1. Emma Snowsill AUS 01:58:26
2. Vanessa Fernandes POR 01:59:33
3. Emma Moffatt AUS 01:59:55
4. Laura Bennett USA 02:00:21
5. Juri Ide JPN 02:00:22
6. Nicola Spirig SUI 02:00:30
7. Daniela Ryf SUI 02:00:39
8. Andrea Hewitt NZL 02:00:45
9. Kiyomi Niwata JPN 02:00:50
10. Debbie Tanner NZL 02:01:05
Results: Elite Men
1. Jan Frodeno GER 01:48:52
2. Simon Whitfield CAN 01:48:58
3. Bevan Docherty NZL 01:49:05
4. Javier Gomez Noya ESP 01:49:13
5. Ivan Raña Fuentes ESP 01:49:22
6. Daniel Unger GER 01:49:43
7. Hunter Kemper USA 01:49:48
8. Rasmus Henning DEN 01:49:57
9. Igor Sysoev RUS 01:49:59
10. Frederic Belaubre FRA 01:50:00
Latest Regional News
more news →