Malyshev and Klamer Take Gold in Alanya

By Peter Holmes | 26 Oct, 2009

Alanya in Turkey hosted the penultimate round of the ITU Triathlon Premium European Cup season with victories for Russia’s Yulian Malyshev and Rachel Klamer from the Netherlands.

The men’s race quickly developed with a large forty strong front pack before a two man breakaway towards the end of the bike gave Dmitry Nosarev and Andrey Lyatsky enter second transition with a small advantage. Alexander Brukhankov looked to have the better of his compatriot, however Malyshev left it late to catch and surge past a few hundred metres from the finish line to take the win. Ivan Tutukin made it a cleansweep for the Russians with third place.

With France’s Jess Harrison and Denmark’s Helle Frederiksen heading the field for the much of the race they were expected to fight it out for the win, however a strong final push by the young Dutch athlete, Rachel Klamer, who took the bronze medal at the ITU Junior Triathlon World Championships on Australia’s Gold Coast took her into a commanding lead. The future looks bright for Klamer who put the best part of thirty seconds into the much more experienced Harrison and Frederiksen in the final part of the run, and she will be one to watch in 2010 as she develops over the standard distance.

The final event of the European triathlon season will be in Eilat, Israel on 21 of November.

Related Event: 2009 Alanya ITU Triathlon Premium European Cup
25 Oct, 2009 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Women
1. Rachel Klamer NED 02:03:05
2. Helle Frederiksen DEN 02:03:32
3. Jessica Harrison FRA 02:03:43
4. Radka Vodickova CZE 02:04:59
5. Zita Szabó HUN 02:05:05
6. Charlotte Morel FRA 02:05:08
7. Alexandra Razarenova RUS 02:05:18
8. Emmie Charayron FRA 02:05:42
9. Birgit Cals-Berk NED 02:06:46
10. Olga Dmitrieva RUS 02:07:08
Results: Elite Men
1. Yulian Malyshev RUS 01:51:17
2. Alexander Bryukhankov RUS 01:51:32
3. Ivan Tutukin KAZ 01:51:43
4. Igor Sysoev RUS 01:51:53
5. Luc Van Es NED 01:51:57
6. Artem Parienko RUS 01:52:05
7. Danylo Sapunov UKR 01:52:17
8. Dmitriy Smurov KAZ 01:52:24
9. Bryan Keane IRL 01:52:31
10. Piotr Grzegorzek POL 01:52:40
Latest Regional News
more news →