Chrabot, Moreno reign as Pan American Champions

By Paula Kim | 18 Oct, 2010

A busy week in Puerta Vallerta wrapped up yesterday with the elite women’s and men’s competitions in the PATCO Triathlon Pan American Championships.  Brazil’s Carla Moreno claimed the women’s championship, while Americans Gwen Jorgensen and Jillian Petersen took silver and bronze respectively. 

But much of the post-race discussion surrounded around 2-time World Cup winner Kirsten Sweetland who was disqualified after unknowingly cutting a corner on the run course.  Entering the competition as the pre-race favourite, the Canadian was in excellent position to take the title before being disqualified by race officials. 

Moreno posted the second-fastest run split of the day, catapulting her to her first ever Pan American Championship.  She broke the tape at 2:04:52, more than 30 seconds ahead of silver medallist Jorgensen.

In the men’s field, American Matt Chrabot used a typically strong biking performance to cruise to the Pan American Championship with a time of 1:54:58.  Coming off a bronze medal performance at the Huatulco World Cup last weekend, Chrabot capped off a successful few weeks of racing in Mexico with his second career PATCO title.

Costa Rica’s Leonardo Chacon took the silver medal, four seconds ahead of American Jarrod Shoemaker.  Chacon, a product of ITU’s Sport Development programme, had the fastest run among the elite men.

The races were contested on the same course that will be used for next year’s Pan Am Games.

Related Event: 2010 Puerto Vallarta PATCO Triathlon Pan American Championships
17 Oct, 2010 • event pageall results
Results: U23 Women
1. Pamella Oliveira BRA 02:10:07
2. Kaitlin Donner USA 02:10:18
3. Maira Alejandra Vargas COL 02:15:25
4. Carolina Furriela BRA 02:19:21
5. Camila Makre ARG 02:22:56
6. Ana Paula Aguirre ARG 02:29:15
DSQ. Carolina Grimaldo COL 00:00:00
DNF. Lauren Goss USA 00:00:00
DNF. Sandra Lazo Alegre PER 00:00:00
DNF. Diana Vizcarra Montes ECU 00:00:00
Results: U23 Men
1. Adriano Sacchetto BRA 01:57:20
2. Matheus Diniz BRA 01:59:20
3. Jason Wilson BAR 02:00:55
4. Carlos Javier Quinchara Forero COL 02:01:47
5. Martin Bedirian ARG 02:02:10
6. Gerardo Vergara GUA 02:05:08
7. Gaspar Riveros CHI 02:05:35
8. Bruno Baldini ARG 02:06:39
9. Martin Nacrur CHI 02:06:43
10. Fabian Flores GUA 02:11:09
Results: Elite Women
1. Carla Moreno BRA 02:04:52
2. Gwen Jorgensen USA 02:05:24
3. Jillian Petersen USA 02:06:28
4. Flora Duffy BER 02:07:09
5. Claudia Rivas MEX 02:07:34
6. Margaret Shapiro USA 02:07:47
7. Rebeccah Wassner USA 02:08:17
8. Annie Warner USA 02:08:48
9. Chantell Widney CAN 02:08:55
10. Flavia Fernandes BRA 02:09:46
Results: Elite Men
1. Matt Chrabot USA 01:54:48
2. Leonardo Chacon CRC 01:55:58
3. Jarrod Shoemaker USA 01:56:02
4. Francisco Serrano Plowell MEX 01:56:21
5. Kevin Collington USA 01:56:30
6. Michel Gonzalez Castro CUB 01:56:35
7. Steven Sexton USA 01:57:02
8. Ben Collins USA 01:57:12
9. Diogo Sclebin BRA 01:57:15
10. Bruno Matheus BRA 01:57:47
Results: 65-69 Male AG
1. Armando Soto MEX 02:52:09
2. Gustavo O'Farrill Ferro MEX 03:48:39
Results: 60-64 Male AG
DSQ. Albaro Virgilio Montes Ramos MEX 00:00:00
Latest Regional News
more news →